Shotcraft
Video generation

Adobe Firefly Video Model

The Adobe Firefly Video Model generates video from a text prompt, optionally guided by an image used as the first or final frame.

A video generation model by Adobe · read 2026-08-14 · sourcing medium

Up to
5 seconds
Resolution
1920x1080 via the Firefly Services API (see disagreements: adobe.com markets 4K in the Firefly app)
Aspect ratios
16:9, 9:16, 1:1
Weights
Not released
API
Yes
Commercial use
Vendor states commercial use is permitted

Adobe's Firefly Services API exposes it as model version video1_standard at POST /v3/videos/generate, described in Adobe's own reference as generating a five second video, with videoSettings fields for cameraMotion, shotAngle, shotSize and promptStyle. Its main selling point is provenance: Adobe says the model is trained on licensed content such as Adobe Stock plus public-domain material and not on Adobe user content, and that its output is designed to be safe for commercial use.

Commercial use — Vendor states commercial use is permitted

Adobe states the Firefly Video Model is trained on licensed content (e.g. Adobe Stock) and public-domain material, is not trained on Adobe user content, and that its output is designed to be safe for commercial use.

The licence notes recorded during research were read for a commercial-use position and did not state one. Read the licence before you rely on any of this. Nothing on this page is legal advice, and this site does not tell you a model is cleared for commercial use.

Specification

Vendor figures, read 2026-08-14Read from Adobe's own documentation on 2026-08-14. Vendors change these between model versions without announcing it, so check theirs before you commit a shot to a number. Sourcing for this entry is mixed. Some fields came from pages we retrieved, others could not be confirmed and are left blank. Check the vendor's current documentation

What it takes in
text, image
What it makes
video
Maximum duration
5 seconds
Maximum resolution
1920x1080 via the Firefly Services API (see disagreements: adobe.com markets 4K in the Firefly app)
Aspect ratios
16:9, 9:16, 1:1
Controls
image-to-video, start-end-frame, camera-control
Weights
Not released
API
Yes
Pricing
Consumer access is via Adobe generative credits with a free daily allotment; Adobe does not publish a per-generation price for the Firefly Video Model on the pages reviewed, and Firefly Services API list pricing was not retrieved. Recorded as unverified.
Released or updated
model version video1_standard current in the Firefly Services API reference as of 2026-08-14; release date not stated on the pages reviewed

Strengths

  • Clear commercial-safety and training-data position, backed by Adobe indemnity positioning
  • Explicit cinematography parameters (camera motion, shot angle, shot size) in the API
  • First or final frame conditioning
  • Sits inside Premiere Pro, Express and Photoshop workflows
  • Same workspace lets you A/B the same prompt across Veo 3.1, Luma Ray3, Kling 3.0 and Runway Gen-4.5

Weaknesses

  • Five seconds per generation via the API, well short of Kling, Vidu and MiniMax
  • API resolution enum tops out at 1920x1080 despite 4K marketing claims
  • No native audio from the Firefly Video Model itself; Adobe points to partner models for that
  • Per-generation pricing is opaque (generative credits rather than a published rate)

Best for

Where the sources disagree

Recorded rather than resolved. Picking the tidier number would hide the fact that the vendor's own pages do not agree.

What to understand before using it

Explainers naming the mechanisms this model's own documentation mentions.

See it from the vendor

Shotcraft hosts no sample output. Judging a model means watching its own showreel with your own eyes, and a clip re-hosted here would be a clip we chose.

Nearby in the directory

Sources

Read on 2026-08-14. A source that has changed since then will not be reflected here until the next pass.